,     Dr. William Vance Baird
Professor and Chairperson
Environmental stress; nuclear genome organization, gene expression.

(517) 355-5191 x 1361
Fax: (517) 353-0890
Mobile: (517) 898-9903
bairdw@msu.edu
      ,     Dr. Cornelius Barry
Associate Professor
Genetic determinants of fruit quality and ripening; genomics; evolution of specialized metabolism in the Solanaceae.

(517) 884-6959
Fax: (517) 353-0890
barrycs@msu.edu


  ,     Dr. Randy Beaudry
Professor
Postharvest biology and technology; controlled atmosphere storage of pome fruit, modified atmosphere packaging; sugarbeet storage, ripening biology and aroma volatile biochemistry.

(517) 355-5191 x 1303
Fax: (517) 353-0890
beaudry@msu.edu
      ,     Dr. Bridget Behe
Professor, Horticultural Marketing
Marketing of horticultural crops; understanding consumers and markets for sustainably- and locally-grown plants.

(517) 355-5191 x 1346
Fax: (517) 353-0890
behe@msu.edu


  ,     Dr. John Biernbaum
Professor
Organic crop production; production and use of compost for fertility, transplant media and water extracts (tea) for managing soil and plant health.

(517) 355-5191 x 1419
Fax: (517) 353-0890
biernbau@msu.edu
      ,     Dr. Daniel Brainard
Associate Professor
Development of reduced-tillage, cover-crop intensive vegetable production systems; weed ecology and management, with an emphasis on seed biology.

(517) 355-5191 x 1417
Fax: (517) 353-0890
brainar9@msu.edu


  ,     Dr. John Bukovac
Professor Emeritus
A390-B Plant & Soil Sciences Building
East Lansing MI 48824-1325
(517) 355-5191 x 1393
Fax: (517) 353-0890
bukovacm@msu.edu
      ,     Dr. Art Cameron
Professor
Director of the MSU Horticulture Gardens; sustainable landscape design; urban horticulture.

(517) 355-5191 x 1338
Fax: (517) 353-0890
cameron@msu.edu


  ,     Dr. Bert Cregg
Associate Professor
Water and nutrient management of shade trees and conifers; movement and distribution of trunk-injected systemic insecticides for emerald ash borer.

(517) 355-5191 x 1335
Fax: (517) 353-0890
cregg@msu.edu
      ,     Marcus Duck
Advisor, Instructor, Ag Tech Program Coordinator
Academic advisor for the IAT 2-year Landscape & Nursery Management and Landscape & Lawn Management programs; Coach for the PLANET Student Career Days team; Advisor of the MSU Horticulture Club.

(517) 355-5191 x 1351
Fax: (517) 353-0890
duckmarc@msu.edu


  ,     Dr. Tom Fernandez
Water Management and Quality
Improving the sustainability of wholesale production nurseries; water management and quality; biodegradable films; phytoremediation of runoff water.

(517) 355-5191 x 1336
Fax: (517) 353-0890
fernan15@msu.edu
      ,     Dr. James Flore
Professor
Carbon assimilation and partitioning by fruit crops; the effect of biotic and abiotic stress on assimilation and carbon partitioning.

(517) 355-5191 x 1375
Fax: (517) 353-0890
flore@msu.edu


  ,     Kristin Getter
Specialist
Plant & Soil Sciences Building
1066 Bogue Street, Room A240-E
East Lansing, MI 48824-1325
(517) 355-5191 x1341
Fax: (517) 353-0890
getterk@msu.edu
      ,     Susan Gruber
Undergraduate Advisor and Instructor
A164 Plant & Soil Sciences Building
East Lansing, MI 48824-1325
(517) 355-5191 x 1326
Fax: (517) 353-0890
grubers@anr.msu.edu


  ,     Dr. Rebecca Grumet
Professor
Reproductive development in Cucumis; regulation of sex-expression; disease resistance; biotechnology biosafety.

(517) 355-5191 x 1431
Fax: (517) 353-0890
grumet@msu.edu
      ,     Dr. Kyung-Hwan Han
Professor
Molecular biology of secondary growth; secondary wall biosynthesis; feedstock development for bioenergy and biomaterials; drought tolerance.

517-353-4751
517-353-7968
hanky@msu.edu


  ,     Dr. Jim Hancock
Professor
Blueberry and strawberry breeding and genetics; marker-assisted selection breeding; environmental biosafety of GE crops.

(517) 355-5191 x 1387
Fax: (517) 353-0890
hancock@msu.edu
      ,     Dr. Eric Hanson
Professor and Extension Specialist
Mineral nutrition and fertilizer use in fruit production; high-tunnel berry crop production; cover crops and weed management.

(517) 355-5191 x 1386
Fax: (517) 353-0890
hansone@msu.edu


  ,     Dr. Amy Iezzoni
Professor
Sour cherry breeding for fruit quality and disease resistance; cherry genetics; marker-assisted breeding; cherry rootstock selection.

(517) 355-5191 x 1391
Fax: (517) 353-0890
iezzoni@msu.edu
      ,     Dr. Ning Jiang
Associate Professor
Function of transposable elements; mechanisms of genome diversification; computational and molecular biology.

(517) 355-5191 x 1381
Fax: (517) 353-0890
jiangn@msu.edu


  ,     Dr. Daniel Keathley
Professor
Small fruit crop genetics.

(517) 355-5191 x 1374
Fax: (517) 353-0890
keathley@msu.edu
      ,     Dr. Gregory Lang
Professor
Tree fruit horticulture, physiology, genetic evaluation, and production systems including high tunnels, training systems, and organics.

(517) 355-5191 x 1388
Fax: (517) 353-0890
langg@msu.edu


  ,     Dr. Suzanne Lang
Associate Professor
Assistant Dean for Academic Human Resources & Director of Faculty Development, College of Agriculture and Natural Resources; Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) as associated with the evaluation of excellence in teaching and the improvement of student learning; whole plant physiology and carbohydrate metabolism.

(517) 355-5191 x 1377
Fax: (517) 353-0890
langsu@msu.edu
      ,     Dr. Wayne Loescher
Professor
Stress physiology, carbohydrate partitioning and photosynthesis.

(517) 355-5191 x 1380
Fax: (517) 353-0890
loescher@msu.edu


  ,     Dr. Norm Lownds
Associate Professor
Youth education; using technology for experiential learning; 4-H Children’s Garden Director.

(517) 355-5191 x 1349
Fax: (517) 353-0890
lownds@msu.edu
      ,     Brian Matchett
Advisor, Instructor, Ag Tech Program Coordinator
Coordinator for the Institute of Agricultural Technology (2-year) Landscape Horticulture Operations, Commercial Horticulture Operations, and Viticulture programs in Traverse City.

(231) 995-1719
matchet4@msu.edu


  ,     Dr. Haddish Melakeberhan
Associate Professor
Integrated and sustainable nematode, nutrient cycling, and soil health management in cropping systems.
(517) 355-4487
Lab: (517) 355-2251
Fax: (517) 353-0890
melakebe@msu.edu
      ,     Jeremy Moghtader
Organic Farming Outreach Specialist
A422 Plant & Soil Sciences Building
East Lansing, MI 48824-1325
(517) 355-5191 x 1408
Fax: (517) 353-0890
moghtad1@msu.edu


  ,     Adam Montri
Hoophouse Outreach Specialist
A422 Plant & Soil Sciences
East Lansing, MI 48824-1325
517-355-5191 X1407
Fax: (517) 353-0890
admontri@msu.edu
      ,     Dr. Muraleedharan G Nair
Professor and Sr Asc to the CANR Dean
Bioactive natural products: Functional foods and Phytoceuticals. Discovery, isolation, purification, identification and standardization of bioactive molecules; efficacy, dose and toxicity evaluation; formulation and process development.

(517) 355-5191 x 1406
Fax: (517) 353-0890
nairm@msu.edu


  ,     Dr. Mathieu Ngouajio
Professor, Vegetable Crops
Sustainable vegetable cropping systems; crop rotation; cover cropping; microclimate modification; soil properties.

(517) 355-5191 x 1410
Fax: (517) 353-0890
ngouajio@msu.edu
      ,     Dr. Ronald Perry
Professor
Orchard and vineyard technology; high density orchard establishment and management; root system morphology and physiology related to soil dynamics; wine education.

(517) 355-5191 x 1433
Fax: (517) 353-0890
perryr@anr.msu.edu


  ,     Stacey Rocklin
Ag Tech Program Coordinator, Lake Michigan College
Ag Tech Program Coordinator at Lake Michigan College in Benton Harbor
(269) 927-8772
rocklin@msu.edu
      ,     Dr. Brad Rowe
Professor
Green roof technology: plant evaluations, growing substrates, carbon sequestration, stormwater management, energy conservation.

(517) 355-5191 x 1334
Fax: (517) 353-0890
rowed@msu.edu


  ,     Dr. Erik Runkle
Professor
Lighting applications for greenhouses; light-emitting diodes; greenhouse energy conservation; floriculture crop growth and development.

(517) 355-5191 x1350
Fax: (517) 353-0890
runkleer@msu.edu
      ,     Dr. Paolo Sabbatini
Assistant Professor
Grapevine physiology; photosynthetic carbon assimilation and partitioning; viticulture; cultivar evaluation of Michigan.

(517) 355-5191 x 302
Fax: (517) 353-0890
sabbatin@msu.edu


  ,     Dixie Sandborn
Extension Specialist
414 Plant & Soil Sciences Building
East Lansing, MI 48824-1325
(517) 355-5191 x 1404
Fax: (517) 353-0890
sandbord@msu.edu
      ,     Dr. Robert Schutzki
Associate Professor
Landscape horticulture; characterization of adaptive traits; plant physiological status during landscape establishment.

(517) 355-5191 x 1337
Fax: (517) 353-0890
schutzki@msu.edu


  ,     Dr. Guo-Qing Song
Associate Professor
Improvement of horticultural crops using genomics, genetic, and biotechnological tools; development of efficient plant micropropagation, regeneration and transformation techniques.

(517) 355-5191 x 1384
Fax: (517) 432-8825
songg@msu.edu
      ,     Dr. Steve van Nocker
Professor
Developmental genetics of plants, traits important for production including flowering and abscission, natural variation, chromatin regulation of gene expression.

(517) 775-5218
vannocke@msu.edu


  ,     Dr. Ryan Warner
Associate Professor
Genetics of plant development; genomics-assisted breeding; marker-assisted selection; floriculture crops.

(517) 355-5191 x 1344
Fax: (517) 353-0890
warnerry@msu.edu
      ,     Dr. Cholani Weebadde
Assistant Professor
384D Plant & Soil Sciences Building
East Lansing, MI 48824-1325
(517) 355-0271 x 1159
Fax: (517) 353-0890
weebadde@msu.edu


  ,     Dr. Irvin Widders
Professor; Director, Dry Grain Pulses CRSP
321 Agriculture Hall
East Lansing, MI 48824
(517) 355-4611
Fax: (517) 432-1073
widders@anr.msu.edu
      ,     Dr. Tom Zabadal
Professor and Coordinator of SMREC
Vineyard establishment; vineyard mechanization; vine training systems; table grape production; cultivar evaluation.

(517) 355-5191
Fax: (517) 353-0890
zabadal@msu.edu


  ,     Dr. Bernard Zandstra
Professor
Weed control in fruit, vegetables, and Christmas trees; registration of new pesticides.

(517) 353-6637
Fax: (517) 432-2242
zandstra@msu.edu